AS/A Level AQA Set Work Analysis: The Baroque Solo Concerto

AS/A Level AQA Set Work Analysis: The Baroque Solo Concerto

Your class will soon know their set works inside out with our analysis resources for AS and A Level – to build familiarity, encourage independent learning, and model top-level analysis.


Begin with pertinent contextual information before moving into thorough and accessible analysis. In-depth commentary is supported by annotated score excerpts and definitions of key concepts, deepening knowledge and understanding. Reinforce learning and encourage independent study with regular, varied consolidation activities – answers included!


A wealth of examination support:

  • Revision ideas and tips for tackling each question – all aimed at getting top marks
  • A full set of practice questions for each part of the piece for targeted preparation – with detailed mark schemes
  • Annotated sample essays demonstrate how to gain marks in the long-answer questions
  • Essential terminology defined in a comprehensive glossary

Baroque Solo Concerto (co-teachable)

Purcell: Sonata for Trumpet and Strings in D major, Vivaldi: Flute Concerto in D ‘Il Gardellino’, Bach: Violin Concerto in A Minor

Enhance skills with supplementary listening links and exercises throughout.

Fully co-teachable: A Level-only content separated in the analysis. Includes AS and A Level questions for each movement.

An invaluable resource for students… The quality of writing, analytical content and the author’s knowledge of Baroque music are excellent. The analytical content is outstanding and provides a breadth of information that is very useful for our students. This is a very good example of how to analyse a piece of music based on the questions required to be answered in the exam. Depth of musical knowledge is communicated in a way that students can understand. The “Listen up” tasks are particularly good – encouraging students to broaden their knowledge of particular styles and understand further the context. – L Williams, Music Teacher and Independent Reviewer

Price is £84 — Includes photocopiable master with site licence; electronic copies available. Orders are normally dispatched in 2-5 working days.
Click here for full details and to order.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s