Music: The Definitive Guides to the 2016 Set Works for A Level Edexcel Music, Unit 6

The Definitive Guides to the 2016 Set Works

All you need to teach the 2016 set works! Support your students in achieving their potential in the exams with the most thorough and comprehensive guides available. Clear and approachable analysis to engage all A Level students, with plenty of material to extend the most able.

For each set work, the consistent structure makes it easy for students to learn and revise…

  1. Concise, relevant background information introduces context, style, form and instrumentation without distracting from the analysis
  2. Detailed and accessible section-by-section commentary breaks the whole work down into manageable parts, with annotated musical examples
  3. Revision notes summarise key features, covering every musical aspect
  4. Key musical terms are fully defined in a succinct and student-friendly glossary
  5. Consolidation questions with answers check learning – ideal for independent learning
  6. Exam-style questions for each piece give extensive practice – marked model answers show how to achieve top grades

Plus! Support for comparison questions: revision notes merged by topic to help make connections, and a wealth of practice questions for every combination of pieces (Instrumental and Vocal Music packs)

A2 Instrumental Music 2016

  • Haydn: Symphony No. 26 in D minor, ‘Lamentatione’: movement 1
  • Holborne: Pavane ‘The image of melancholy’ and Galliard ‘Ecce quam bonum’
  • Brahms: Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34: movement III
  • J. S. Bach: Partita No. 4 in D, BWV 828: Sarabande and Gigue
  • Shostakovich: Prelude and Fugue in A, Op. 87 No. 7
  • Duke Ellington and his Orchestra: Black and Tan Fantasy
  • Miles Davis Quintet: Four (opening)

A2 Applied Music 2016

  • J. S. Bach: Cantata No. 48, ‘Ich elender Mensch’: movements I-IV
  • Schoenberg: ‘Der kranke Mond’ from Pierrot Lunaire
  • Leonard Bernstein: On the Waterfront: Symphonic Suite (opening)
  • John Williams: ET: Flying Theme
  • Niall Keegan: Tom McElvogue’s (jig) and New Irish Barndance (reel)

“This is an excellent resource, with extensive facts and contextual information backed up by examples… The musical analysis is detailed and reveals many insightful features which relate to the composers’ styles… The resource promotes a greater understanding of each set work and will enable students to place each work in a social and historical context.” – M Bills, Music Teacher and Independent Reviewe

“Well written, informative and full of solid musical examples… Insightful analysis on each of the set works throughout the resource… The author showed very good musical knowledge and offered good pointers for students.” – P McKinley, Examiner and Independent Reviewer

Price is £109 each — Includes photocopiable master with site licence; electronic copies available. Orders are normally dispatched in 2-5 working days.
Click here for full details and to order.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s